Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

NIHR Pre-Doctoral Local Authority Fellowship (PLAF) Scheme Selection committee


Published: 06 July 2023

Version: Final

Print this document

Selection committee members for Round 3 (2023) of the Pre-Doctoral Local Authority Fellowship (PLAF) Scheme are listed below. If you would like to register your interest to join this committee, please complete the expression of interest form.

The Selection Committee is composed from the members listed below:

  • Professor G.J Melendez-Torres (Chair), University of Exeter

Professor of Clinical and Social Epidemiology. Professor Melendez-Torres leads the Peninsula Technology Assessment Group (PenTAG) and the School for Public Health Environments Research at the University of Exeter (SPHERE). He is also Deputy Director of the Exeter NIHR Policy Research Programme Evidence Reviews Facility, and Associate Director for Involvement and Engagement for the NIHR School for Public Health Research, University of Exeter.

  • Dr Sharin Baldwin, Clinical Academic Lead (Nursing), London North West University Healthcare Trust
  • Professor Paul Bywaters, Professor of Social Work, Department of Behavioural and Social Sciences, University of  Huddersfield

  • Professor Catherine Haighton

  • Professor of Public Health and Wellbeing, Northumbria University

  • Professor Rick Hood, Professor of Social Work, Kingston University London

  • Professor Victoria Joffe, Professor in Speech and Language Therapy and Dean of the School of Health and Social Care, University of Essex

  • Dr Paul Clarkson, Senior Lecturer in Social Care, University of Manchester

  • Dr Susan Hampshaw, Research Associate, Doncaster Council

  • Dr Maria Horne, Associate Professor in Community & Public Health, University of Leeds

  • Dr Iain Lang, Senior Lecturer in Public Health, University of Exeter

  • Dr Michaela Rogers, Senior Lecturer in Social Work, University of Sheffield

  • Dr Alison Warren, Associate Professor of Occupational Therapy, University of Plymouth.