Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

NIHR Senior Investigators 2022


Published: 03 March 2022

Version: 1.0 - March 2022

Print this document

In March 2022, the NIHR announced the appointment of 55 NIHR Senior Investigators in the 15th round of awards.

30 new appointments

NameInstitutionPrimary Research Field
Professor Adam Gordon University of Nottingham Geriatrics & Gerontology
Professor Andrew Weeks University of Liverpool Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Professor Anthony Marson University of Liverpool Neurology
Professor Catherine Bowen University of Southampton Podiatry & Chiropody
Professor Catherine Smith Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust Dermatology
Professor Chris Nutting The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust Oncology & Carcinogenesis
Professor Christian Mallen Keele University Primary Health Care
Professor Clare Bambra University of Newcastle upon Tyne Public Health
Professor David Beard University of Oxford Surgery
Professor Emanuele Di Angelantonio University of Cambridge Epidemiology
Professor Enitan Carrol University of Liverpool Infectious Diseases
Professor Hashim Uddin Ahmed Imperial College London Nephrology & Urology
Professor Judy Breuer University College London Medical Microbiology
Professor Julia Hippisley-Cox University of Oxford Primary Health Care
Professor Kathryn Rowan Intensive Care National Audit & Research Centre Intensive Care
Professor Maya Buch The University of Manchester Rheumatology
Professor Najib Rahman University of Oxford Respiratory Diseases
Professor Nick Maskell University of Bristol Respiratory Diseases
Professor Nigel Cunliffe University of Liverpool Medical Microbiology
Professor Paul Dark The University of Manchester Intensive Care
Professor Richard Body The University of Manchester Emergency Medicine
Professor Sally Singh University of Leicester Rehabilitation
Professor Sara Kenyon University of Birmingham Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Professor Sir Terence Stephenson UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health Paediatrics
Professor Sobha Sivaprasad Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust Ophthalmology & Optometry & Orthoptics
Professor Steven Julious University of Sheffield Statistical Sciences
Professor Swaran Singh University of Warwick Mental Health & Psychiatry
Professor Tamsin Ford University of Cambridge Mental Health & Psychiatry
Professor Timothy Barrett University of Birmingham Paediatrics
Professor Timothy Coats University of Leicester Emergency Medicine


25 reappointments

NameInstitutionPrimary Research Field
Professor Anne Forster University of Leeds Rehabilitation
Professor Anthony Redmond University of Leeds Rheumatology
Professor Arri Coomarasamy University of Birmingham Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Professor Christopher Butler University of Oxford Primary Health Care
Professor David Jayne University of Leeds Surgery
Professor Eleanor Barnes University of Oxford Gastroenterology & Hepatology
Professor Eric W.F.W. Alton Imperial College London Respiratory Diseases
Professor Graham Ogg University of Oxford Dermatology
Professor Ian Wilkinson University of Cambridge Cardiology & Cardiovascular Disease
Professor Ibrahim Abubakar University College London Public Health
Professor Jonathan Green The University of Manchester Mental Health & Psychiatry
Professor Julian Higgins University of Bristol Statistical Sciences
Professor Lucy Wedderburn University College London Rheumatology
Professor Martin Orrell University of Nottingham Mental Health & Psychiatry
Professor Martin White University of Cambridge Public Health
Professor Michael Patrick William Grocott University of Southampton Anaesthesiology
Professor Paul Aveyard University of Oxford Primary Health Care
Professor Peter Bower The University of Manchester Health Care Sciences & Services
Professor Peter Griffiths University of Southampton Nursing
Professor Rebecca Fitzgerald University of Cambridge Gastroenterology & Hepatology
Professor Robert Sutton University of Liverpool Surgery
Professor Rosalind Raine University College London Public Health
Professor Russell Viner University College London Health Policy & Services
Professor Sube Banerjee University of Plymouth Mental Health & Psychiatry
Professor Sir Alimuddin Zumla University College London Infectious Diseases


9 new Emeritus Senior Investigators

NameInstitutionPrimary Research Field
Professor Caroline Sabin University College London Epidemiology
Professor David EJ Jones Newcastle University Gastroenterology & Hepatology
Professor Edward Bullmore University of Cambridge Mental Health & Psychiatry
Professor Graham Lord University of Manchester Immunology
Professor Kamlesh Khunti University of Leicester Primary Health Care
Professor Lyn S Chitty Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust Genetics & Heredity
Professor Paula Williamson University of Liverpool Statistical Sciences
Professor Philip Beales University College London Genetics & Heredity
Professor William Rosenberg The Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust Gastroenterology & Hepatology