Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

PHR Programme Funding Committee members


Published: 27 June 2019

Version: 3.0 June 2022

Print this document

The PHR Funding Committee plays an important role in assessing proposals and identifying topics for research based on their scientific quality, feasibility, and value for money.

Programme Director

Professor Brian Ferguson - Director, NIHR Public Health Research Programme

Programme Chair

Professor Peymane Adab - Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham (Committee Chair)


  • Dr Salma Ayis - Reader in Medical Statistics, King's College London
  • Associate Professor Derrick Bennett - Associate Professor, University of Oxford
  • Dr Lindsay Blank - Senior Research Fellow, University of Sheffield
  • Professor Sinead Brophy - Professor of Public Health Data Science, Swansea University
  • Professor Frank de Vocht - Professor in Epidemiology and Public Health, University of Bristol
  • Dr Karen Exley - Group Leader Air Quality and Public Health, UK Health Security Agency
  • Dr Tracey Farragher - Senior Lecturer in Epidemiology, University of Manchester
  • Professor Emma Frew - Professor in Health Economics, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Susan Griffin - Professor of Health Economics, University of York
  • Dr Dougal Hargreaves - Houston Reader in Paediatrics & Population Health, Imperial College London
  • Dr Benjamin Hawkins - Senior Research Associate (Health Policy), University of Cambridge
  • Professor Ruth Hunter - Professor of Public and Planetary Health, Queen's University of Belfast
  • Dr Judi Kidger - Senior Lecturer, University of Bristol
  • Professor Ruth Kipping - Professor of Public Health, Bristol Medical School
  • Dr Chris Kypridemos - Senior Lecturer in Public Health Informatics & Data Science, University of Liverpool
  • Dr Anthony Laverty - Lecturer, Imperial College London
  • Professor James Lewsey - Professor of Medical Statistics, University of Glasgow
  • Dr Mary Madden - Associate Professor, Mental Health and Addiction Research Group, University of York
  • Ms Tess McManus - Public Member
  • Professor Petra Meier - Professor of Public Health, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Graham Moore - Professor of Social Sciences & Public Health, Cardiff University
  • Dr Magdalena Opazo Breton - Senior Research Fellow, The University of Nottingham
  • Dr Jenna Panter - Principal Research Associate, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Sarah Rodgers - Professor of Health Informatics, University of Liverpool
  • Mr Roy Shubhabrata - Public Member
  • Professor Jolene Skordis - Professor of Economics, University College London
  • Professor Harry Sumnall - Professor in Substance Use, Liverpool John Moores University
  • Dr Veronica Toffolutti - Lecturer in Health Economics, Queen Mary University of London
  • Professor Mark Tully - Professor of Public Health, Ulster University
  • Mr Jack Welch - Public Member
  • Professor James Woodcock - Professor of Transport and Health Modelling / Programme Lead Public Health Modelling, University of Cambridge