Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Global Health Policy and Systems Research - Researcher Led Funding Committee Member List


Published: 13 December 2021

Version: 2.0 June 2023

Print this document


Professor Dame Anne Mills
Deputy Director and Provost, and Professor of Health and Economics and Policy at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK


Professor Irene Agyepong
Public Health Physician with the Dodowa Health Research Centre of the Research and Development directorate of the Ghana Health Service. Also a member of the Public Health Faculty of the Ghana College of Physicians and Surgeons

Funding Committee

Professor Akanni Akinyemi
Associate Professor in the Department of Demography and Social Statistics at Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-ife, Nigeria

Professor Julie Balen
Professor of Global Health, University of Sheffield, UK

Professor Giancarlo Buitrago Gutierrez
Associate Professor, National University of Colombia

Dr Meenakshi Gautham
Assistant Professor, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Paula Griffiths
Professor of Population Health, Loughborough University, UK

Professor Allan Hill
Professor of Population & International Health, University of Southampton, UK

Dr Thomas Hone
Health Systems Researcher, Imperial College London, UK

Professor Debra Jackson
Professor of Global Child Health, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Anuj Kapilashrami
Professor in Global Health Policy, University of Essex, UK

Dr Margaret Kruk
Professor of Health Systems, Harvard University School of Public Health, USA

Dr Aku Kwamie
Health Systems Researcher, World Health Organisation

Dr Mylene Lagarde
Associate Professor, London School of Economics & Political Science, UK

Professor Alastair Leyland
Professor of Population Health Statistics, University of Glasgow, UK

Professor Reza Majdzadeh
Professor of Epidemiology, University of Essex, UK

Mr Abraham Mamela
Director, Infers Group, South Africa

Professor Tolib Mirzoev
Professor of Global Health Policy, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, UK

Dr Rodrigo Moreno-Serra
Associate Professor and Co-Team Leader of Global Health, Centre for Health Economics, University of York, UK

Ms Noni Mumba
Head of community engagement, KEMRI Wellcome Trust Research Programme, University of Oxford, UK

Professor Jill Olivier
Associate Professor, School of Public Health and Family Medicine, University of Cape Town, South Africa

Dr Nino Paichadze
Assistant Research Professor, Global Health, The George Washington University, USA

Dr Diana Pinto Masis
Independent Consultant in Health Systems and Reform, Universidad Nacional de Columbia, South America

Professor Rudi Rocha
Associate Professor at the São Paulo School of Business Administration, Brazil

Dr Prashanth Srinivas
Assistant Director (Research) DBT/Wellcome Trust, India

Professor Getnet Tadele
Professor, Department of Sociology, Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia

Professor Nikhil Tandon
Professor, Department of Endocrinology and Metabolism, All India Institute of Medical Science, New Delhi, India

Dr Benjamin Tsofa
Health Systems and Policy Researcher at KEMRI-Wellcome Trust, University of Oxford, UK

Dr André van Rensburg
Senior Researcher, Centre for Rural Health, University of Kwazulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa

Dr Andres Vecino-Ortiz
Associate Scientist, International Health, John Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, USA

Professor Peter von Dadelszen
Professor of Global Women’s Health, King’s College London, UK

Dr Francis Wafula
Senior Lecturer in Healthcare Management, Strathmore University Business School, Kenya