Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

HSDR Sub-Funding Committee public minutes: Pharmacy First - September 2023


Published: 12 January 2024

Version: 1.0 - January 2024

Print this document

Read our Health and Social Care Delivery Network (HSDR) sub-funding public committee minutes from September 2023.

Monday 18 September 2023


Virtual via Microsoft Teams

Present members

  • Jo Rycroft-Malone (Chair)
  • Dawn Dowding
  • Jo McPeake
  • Alicia O'Cathain
  • Alan Watkins
  • Ge Yu
  • Debra Bick
  • Jenni Burton
  • Alexis Foster
  • Greg Irving
  • Enya Daynes (Committee Member Development Scheme participant)
  • Sue Jordan (co-opted member - former HSDR Funding Committee and Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Pharmaceutical panel member)
  • Michael Molete (public committee member)
  • Zenab Barry (public committee member)


  • Stephanie Garfield-Birkbeck
  • Susannah Hopper
  • Irene Moreno Millan
  • Maria Oosterwijk


  • Tara Lamont


  • Deirdre McCarthy – Research Programme Manager, Department of Health and Social Care

Quoracy information

This call was scheduled to be considered at the July funding committee, but due to the head-to-head nature of this call and the level of members’ conflicts, there was insufficient expertise available in the room for a robust discussion. Therefore, the committee for this meeting was drawn together from current and past members from across the HSDR funding committee that lacked significant conflicts.

  • Voting members: 13 (Quoracy = 66% = 13 – based on the full committee membership for the meeting where this call should have originally been discussed).

Stage one applications

23/73 Evaluating “Pharmacy First” services for management of common conditions

NIHR160189 - Pharmacy First: Assessment of AntibiotIcs Dispensed following Community Pharmacist Consultation for Common Conditions (the Phirst AAID study) (Simon White, Keele University)
Chair: Jo Rycroft-Malone
Conflicts: None
Decision: Reject

NIHR160217 - A mixed-methods impact and implementation evaluation of the “Pharmacy First” Services for management of common conditions (Nicholas Mays, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine)
Chair: Jo Rycroft-Malone
Conflicts: None
Decision: Shortlist

NIHR160249 - Evaluating Pharmacy First (Ellen Schafheutle, The University of Manchester)
Chair: Jo Rycroft-Malone
Conflicts: None
Decision: Shortlist

NIHR160329 - Pharmacy fiRst Infection Management in Every day practice (Paul Little, University of Southampton)
Chair: Jo Rycroft-Malone
Conflicts: None
Decision: Shortlist