Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

HTA Funding Committee Clinical Evaluation and Trials


Published: 27 June 2019

Version: 1.11 September 2023

Print this document


Professor Olivia Wu - William R Lindsay Chair of Health Economics | Director of HEHTA | Director of NIHR Complex Reviews Support Unit, Institute of Health and Wellbeing, University of Glasgow

Deputy Chair

Professor Rakesh Heer, Chair of Urology and Hon. Consultant Surgeon, Imperial College London


  • Professor Augusto Azuara-Blanco - Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology, Queen's University Belfast and Honorary Consultant Ophthalmologist, Belfast Health and Social Care Trust
  • Mrs Jennifer Bostock - Public Committee Member
  • Dr Elizabeth Camacho - Senior Lecturer, Institute of Population Health, University of Liverpool
  • Dr Claudia Cooper - Professor of Psychological Medicine and old age psychiatry Lead, Centre for Psychiatry and Mental Health, Queen Mary University London
  • Professor Alun Davies - Professor of Vascular Surgery and Honorary Consultant, Department of Surgery & Cancer, Imperial College London
  • Dr Janet Deane - Associate Professor of Rehabilitation Science and Physiotherapy, College of Life and Environmental Sciences, University of Birmingham
  • Dr Munya Dimairo - Senior Research Fellow in Medical Statistics, Clinical Trials Research Unit, University of Sheffield
  • Professor Jon Dorling - Consultant Neonatologist, University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust
  • Mrs Hannah de Merode - Public Committee Member
  • Dr Francesca Fiorentino - Senior Lecturer in Clinical Statistics, Nightingale-Saunders Clinical Trials & Epidemiology Unit, King's College London
  • Associate Professor Paul French - Associate Professor, Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust, Manchester Metropolitan University 
  • Dr Katie Gillies - Reader, Health Services Research Unit, University of Aberdeen
  • Mr James Glasbey - Honorary Clinical Lecturer and Specialist Registrar in General Surgery at the University of Birmingham
  • Mrs Joanne Haviland - Reader in Medical Statistics, Pragmatic Clinical Trials Unit, Centre for Evaluation and Methods, Queen Mary University London
  • Professor Daniel Hind - Assistant Director, Sheffield Clinical Trials Research Unit / Reader in Complex Interventions, School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield
  • Dr Stamatina Iliodromiti - Reader, Queen Mary University London | Honorary Consultant in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Royal London Hospital
  • Dr Elena Pizzo - Senior Research Associate, Department of Applied Health Research, University College London
  • Professor Jonathan Rees - Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Musculoskeletal Science, Nuffield Dept of Orthopaedics, Rheumatology and Musculoskeletal Science, University of Oxford
  • Dr Nigel Rees - Head of Research & Innovation, Welsh Ambulance Services NHS Trust (WAST), Institute of Life Sciences, Swansea University
  • Dr Gurdeep Sagoo - Senior Lecturer in Health Economics, Newcastle University
  • Professor Kapil Sayal - Professor of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, Developmental Psychiatry, Division of Psychiatry & Applied Psychology, University of Nottingham
  • Miss Sheona St Hilaire - Public Committee Member
  • Dr Elizabeth Warburton - Consultant in Stroke Medicine, Department of Clinical Neurosciences, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (Addenbrookes Hospital)
  • Professor James Wason - Professor of Biostatistics, Institute of Health and Society, Faculty of Medical Sciences, Newcastle University
  • Professor David Weller - James Mackenzie Professor of General Practice / Programme Co-Director (Master of Family Medicine), Usher Institute, College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine, The University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Ed Wilson - Associate Professor of Health Economics and Health Policy, Peninsula Technology Assessment Group, College of Medicine and Health, University of Exeter
  • Ms Beth Woods - Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Health Economics, University of York