This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

HTA Prioritisation Committee: Hospital Based Care - members


This committee will advise on the development of topics from across the HTA remit but will have strengths in inside hospital care.


Professor Anthony De Soyza - Professor of Pulmonary Medicine, Newcastle University

Deputy Chair

Dr Cheryl Battersby - NIHR Clinician Scientist, Clinical Senior Lecturer Neonatal Medicine, Imperial College London; Honorary Consultant Neonatologist, Chelsea and Westminster NHS Foundation Trust


  • Dr Dianne Addei - Public Health Advisor, NHS England Specialised Commissioning Team (National)
  • Professor Augusto Azuara-Blanco - Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology, Queen's University Belfast; Honorary NHS Consultant Ophthalmologist, Belfast Health and Social Care Trust
  • Associate Professor Elizabeth Bailey - Midwife Research Fellow, University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust
  • Mr Paul Baker - Director for Research and Innovation; Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon, South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Mr Richard Ballerand - Public Contributor
  • Professor Michael Callaghan - Professor of Clinical Physiotherapy, Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Professor Ian Chetter - Chair of Surgery, Hull York Medical School, University of Hull; Chair Research Committee, Vascular Society Great Britain and Ireland
  • Dr Meenakshi Choudhary - Consultant Gynaecologist and Sub Specialist in Reproductive Medicine, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Professor Justin Clark - Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Simon Conroy - Professor of Geriatric Medicine, University of Leicester
  • Dr Keith Couper - Assistant Professor in Emergency and Critical Care, University of Warwick
  • Dr Peter Danielian - Consultant in Obstetrics, Aberdeen Maternity Hospital
  • Miss Alisen Dube - Senior Nurse in Tissue Viability, Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership NHS Trust; Research Associate in Patient Safety, Staffordshire University
  • Dr James Frith - NIHR Clinician Scientist; Clinical Senior Lecturer; Consultant Physician, Newcastle University
  • Professor Fang Gao Smith - Professor of Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain, University of Birmingham; Consultant in Critical Care Medicine, University Hospitals Birmingham
  • Dr Shruti Garg - Clinical Senior Lecturer in Translational Child Psychiatry, University of Manchester; Honorary Consultant in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital
  • Dr Roger Gibb - Public Contributor
  • Professor Alasdair Gray - Consultant in Emergency Medicine; Honorary Professor of Emergency Medicine and Clinical Director of the Emergency Department, NHS Lothian
  • Professor Steve Halligan - Professor of Gastrointestinal Radiology and Head of UCL Centre for Medical Imaging, University College London
  • Mr Thomas Hamilton - NIHR Academic Clinical Fellow, Trauma and Orthopaedics, University of Oxford
  • Professor Priscilla Harries - Professor of Occupational Therapy, Associate Dean Research, St George's, University of London
  • Dr Max Henderson - Associate Professor and Consultant Liaison Psychiatrist, University of Leeds
  • Professor Peter Hutchinson - Professor of Neurosurgery, University of Cambridge; Honorary Consultant Neurosurgeon, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dr Gillian Lowe - Consultant Haematologist, University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust
  • Professor Mamas Mamas - Professor of Cardiology, Keele University
  • Dr Ronan McMullan - Reader and Consultant Medical Microbiologist, Queens University Belfast and Belfast Health and Social Care Trust
  • Mrs Zoe Morrison - Paediatric Research Nurse Specialist, Cardiff and Vale University Health Board
  • Professor Nick Oliver - Wynn Professor of Metabolism, Imperial College London
  • Dr Nazima Pathan - Paediatric Intensive Care Unit Consultant, University of Cambridge / Addenbrooke’s Hospital
  • Mr Anil Reddy - Consultant Robotic, Laparoscopic General, Colorectal and Pelvic Floor Surgeon, South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust; Honorary Senior Lecturer, Newcastle University and Teeside University
  • Dr Edward Roddy - Reader in Rheumatology and Honorary Consultant Rheumatologist, Arthritis Research UK Primary Care Centre, Keele University and Haywood Hospital
  • Professor Dimitrios Siassakos - Associate Professor/Reader in Obstetrics and Honorary Consultant in Obstetrics, University College London and University College Hospital
  • Mrs Polly Smith - Public Contributor
  • Dr Peter Swoboda - Cardiology Consultant, Mid Yorks NHS Trust; Honorary Senior Lecturer, Leeds Institute of Cardiovascular and Metabolic Medicine, University of Leeds
  • Professor Alice Turner - Professor of Respiratory Medicine, University of Birmingham; Honorary Consultant Respiratory Physician, University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dr Hilary Williams - Consultant in Medical Oncology, Velindre Cancer Centre