This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Beta Site: This is a new site which is still under development. We welcome your feedback, which will help improve it.

Feedback form

HTA Programme Funding Committee (General) members



HTA Funding Committee (General) members

Professor Andrew Farmer Professor of General Practice, Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford
Deputy ChairOrganisation
Professor John Norrie Chair of Medical Statistics and Trial Methodology, Director of Edinburgh Clinical Trials Unit (CTU) University of Edinburgh
Professor Julie Brittenden Professor of Vascular Surgery, Institute of Cardiovascular and Medical Sciences, University of Glasgow
Miss Kirstin Carswell Post-CCT Bariatric Surgical Fellow, King's College Hospital
Mr Alan Chant Public board member
Professor Mike Clarke Director of MRC Methodology Hub, School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences, Queen’s University Belfast
Professor Matt Costa Professor of Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery, Nuffield Department of Orthopaedics, Rheumatology, and Musculoskeletal Sciences, University of Oxford
Professor Joanna Thompson Coon Associate Professor in Evidence Synthesis, NIHR CLAHRC South West Peninsula
Dr Fay Crawford Senior Research Advisor, Research and Development, NHS Fife
Dr Jo Dumville Senior Lecturer in Applied Health Research, School of Health Sciences, University of Manchester
Professor Caroline Free Professor of Epidemiology and Primary Care, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Professor Simon Gates Professor of Biostatistics and Clinical Trials, Institute of Cancer and Genomic Sciences, University of Birmingham
Professor Colin Green Professor of Health Economics, University of Exeter Medical School
Professor Kerry Hood Director of the Centre for Trials Research, College of Biomedical & Life Sciences, Cardiff University
Professor Nick James Director of the Cancer Research Centre, Warwick Medical School, University of Warwick
Professor Asma Khalil Professor of Maternal Fetal Medicine, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, St George's University of London
Professor Julia Lawton Professor of Health and Social Science, Usher Institute of Population Health Sciences and Informatics, University of Edinburgh
Professor Steff Lewis Personal Chair in Medical Statistics, University of Edinburgh
Professor Rumana Omar Professor of Medical Statistics, Department of Statistical Science, University College London
Professor Rupert Pearse Professor and Consultant in Intensive Care Medicine, Queen Marys University of London
Professor Mark Peters Professor of Paediatric Intensive Care, UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health
Professor Craig Ramsay Professor of Health Care Evaluation, Director of the Health Services Research Unit, University of Aberdeen
Dr Matthew Ridd Consultant Senior Lecturer in Primary Health Care, School of Social and Community Medicine, University of Bristol
Mrs Amanda Roberts Public board member
Professor Christine Roffe Consultant in Stroke Medicine, Keele University
Dr Marc Serfaty Reader in Psychiatry, Faculty of Brain Sciences, University College London
Dr Sarah Stock Senior Clinical Lecturer in Maternal and Fetal Health, MRC Centre for Reproductive Health, University of Edinburgh
Dr Sara Twaddle Former Director of Evidence, Healthcare Improvement Scotland
Professor Olivia Wu Professor in Health Technology Assessments, Institute of Health and Wellbeing, University of Glasgow