This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

HTA Programme Funding Committee (General) members



Professor Julia Brown - Director of Clinical Trials Research Unit, University of Leeds

Deputy Chair: 

Professor Rupert Pearse - Professor and Consultant in Intensive Care Medicine, Queen Mary University of London


  • Dr Ashley Agus - Health Economics, Nictu / Royal Hospitals Belfast
  • Professor Hashim Ahmed - Urology / Surgery, Imperial College – London
  • Professor Julie Brittenden - Professor of Vascular Surgery, Institute of Cardiovascular and Medical Sciences, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Matt Costa - Professor of Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery, Nuffield Department of Orthopaedics, Rheumatology, and Musculoskeletal Sciences, University of Oxford
  • Dr Fay Crawford - Senior Research Advisor, Research and Development, NHS Fife
  • Professor Jo Dumville - Professor of Applied Health Research, School of Health Sciences, University of Manchester
  • Professor Nick Francis - Professor of Primary Care Research, University of Southampton
  • Professor Caroline Free - Professor of Epidemiology and Primary Care, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
  • Professor Simon Gates - Professor of Biostatistics and Clinical Trials, Institute of Cancer and Genomic Sciences, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Kerry Hood - Director of the Centre for Trials Research, College of Biomedical & Life Sciences, Cardiff University
  • Professor Nick James - Director of the Cancer Research Centre, Warwick Medical School, University of Warwick
  • Professor Asma Khalil - Professor of Maternal Fetal Medicine, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, St George's University of London
  • Professor Steff Lewis - Personal Chair in Medical Statistics, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Stephanie MacNeill - Statistics, University of Bristol
  • Mr Matthew Moore - Public committee member
  • Professor Mark Peters - Professor of Paediatric Intensive Care, UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health
  • Professor Craig Ramsay - Professor of Health Care Evaluation, Director of the Health Services Research Unit, University of Aberdeen
  • Mrs Amanda Roberts - Public committee member
  • Professor Christine Roffe - Consultant in Stroke Medicine, Keele University
  • Dr Whitney Scott - NIHR Postdoctoral Fellow - Clinical Psychology, King’s College London
  • Dr Marc Serfaty - Reader in Psychiatry, Faculty of Brain Sciences, University College London
  • Dr Marta Soares - Health Economics, University of York
  • Dr Martin Thomas - Physiotherapy, Keele University
  • Professor Joanna Thompson Coon - Associate Professor in Evidence Synthesis, NIHR CLAHRC South West Peninsula
  • Dr Sara Twaddle - Former Director of Evidence, Healthcare Improvement Scotland
  • Professor Tammi Walker - Psychology, Teeside University