Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

HTA Programme Oversight Committee - members


Published: 22 August 2019

Version: 2.0 October 2023

Print this document

The Programme Oversight Committee is responsible for oversight and approval of commissioning briefs recommended for research by the prioritisation committees. The group is also responsible for ratifying and ranking proposals recommended by the programme’s funding committees for submission to the Department of Health and Social Care for final decision and approval.


Professor Andrew Farmer - Director of HTA Programme, NIHR


  • Professor Peter Brindle - General Practitioner; former Integrated Care Board Medical Director
  • Professor Julia Brown - Director of Clinical Trials Research Unit, University of Leeds
  • Professor Anthony De Soyza - Professor of Pulmonary Medicine, University of Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Professor Geraldine Macdonald - Professor of Social Work, University of Bristol
  • Professor Rupert Pearse - Professor and Consultant in Intensive Care Medicine, Queen Mary University of London and Barts NHS Trust
  • Ms Gail Thornton - Public Contributor
  • Professor Olivia Wu - Professor of Health Economics, University of Glasgow