Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Programme Grants for Applied Research - Competition 37 Stage 2 Minutes Committee A


Published: 20 July 2022

Version: 1.0 July 2022

Print this document

Minutes of the NIHR Programme Grants for Applied Research (PGfAR) Sub-Committee A meeting to discuss stage 2 applications to Competition 37. 

Date and Location

Meeting held on 28 June 2022 via online video meeting

In attendance

Committee Members

Professor Jonathan Mant (Chair)
Professor Simon Heller (Supporting Chair)
Ms Anica Alvarez Nishio
Professor Tim Coleman
Dr Kimberly Goldsmith
Professor Carmel Hughes
Professor Claire Hulme
Professor Kelvin Jordan
Professor Gregory Lip
Dr David Meads
Professor Hemant Pandit 
Professor Glenn Robert
Ms Julie Stone
Professor Stephanie Taylor
Professor Stephen Walters
Ms Mavis Wenham 

Written Comments

Professor Isabel Reading 
Professor Kavita Vedhara 

Programme Director

Professor Elaine Hay


Mr Raj Flora (NIHR)
Ms Fiona Giles (NIHR)
Ms Lisa Klaourakis (NIHR)
Ms Saprina Harrison (NIHR)
Ms Zaynab Manea (NIHR)
Ms Emily Griffiths (NIHR)
Mr Ian Beason (NIHR)
Xavier Halligan (NIHR)
Kasia Najdyhor (NIHR)


Dr Jean Craig, RDS East of England,University of East Anglia
Dr Manuel De Oliveira Gomes, University College London
Professor Deborah Fitzsimmons, Swansea University
Dr Irina Kinchin, The University of Dublin
Professor G J Melendez-Torres, University of Exeter
Professor Catherine Hewitt, University of York


Professor Eileen Kaner (written comments provided)
Professor Steve Gillard (written comments provided)

Applications considered

NIHR204013: Treating persecutory delusions successfully: enabling patients with psychosis to receive the most effective psychological therapy
Lead Applicant: Professor Daniel Freeman
Conflicts: Dr Kimberley Goldsmith and Professor Glenn Robert
Outcome: Conditional Support (phased fund)

NIHR204148: Optimising cultural expeRIences for mental health in underrepresented younG people onlINe (ORIGIN)
Lead Applicant: Dr Rebecca Syed Sheriff
Conflicts: Dr Kimberley Goldsmith, Professor Kelvin Jordan, Professor Stephanie Taylor, Professor Stephen Walters, Professor Simon Heller, Ms Julie Stone, Ms Anica Alvarez Nishi
Outcome: Conditional Support (phased fund)

Professor Simon Heller assumed the chair

NIHR204154: "The AIR SAFETY Programme: Developing, validating & deploying cost-effective Artificial Intelligence driven preventions of aerosol borne Respiratory diseases (AIR) to enhance healthcare staff and patient SAFETY"
Lead Applicant: Professor Laurence Lovat
Conflicts: Professor Jonathan Mant and Dr Manuel De Oliveira Gomes
Outcome: Reject

NIHR204156: Optimising outcomes in pregnant women with epilepsy and their babies: Reducing maternal seizure risks and assessing long-term safety of antiepileptic drugs
Lead Applicant: Professor Shakila Thangaratinam
Conflicts: Professor Tim Coleman
Outcome: Conditional Support (phased fund)

Professor Jonathan Mant resumed the chair

NIHR204430: Defining, Recognising and Escalating Maternal Early Deterioration (DREaMED):Decreasing inequality through improved outcomes
Lead Applicant:
Professor Peter Watkinson
Dr Kimberley Goldsmith and Professor Glenn Robert
Conditional Support (phased fund)

Outcomes Table

Funding Committees score applications on a range of 1-10. This table displays the number of applications awarded by mean score. The PGfAR fundable range is 8-10. Applications with a mean score of 6.0-7.9 have the potential to be funded, at the discretion of the Department of Health and Social Care based on recommendations by the Stage 2 and Main Selection Committees

MeanRangeNumber of applications
9.0 - 10.0 Fundable 0
8.0 - 8.9 Fundable 4
7.0 - 7.9 Potentially Fundable  0
6.0 - 6.9 Potentially Fundable  0
5.0 - 5.9 Rejected 0
4.0 - 4.9 Rejected 1
3.0 - 3.9 Rejected 0
2.0 - 2.9 Rejected 0
1.0 - 1.9 Rejected 0