This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Programme Grants for Applied Research (PGfAR) Sub-Committee C - Minutes of the PGfAR Competition 31 Stage 2




PGfAR Competition 31 Stage 2 Sub-Committee C

23 June 2020 via online video meeting


Present Members

Professor Kate Jolly (Chair)
Professor Jonathan Mant (Supporting chair)
Professor Cindy Cooper
Professor Robbie Foy
Professor Laura Gray
Mr Philip Hurst
Associate-Professor Andrew Judge
Professor Belinda Lennox
Professor Richard Lilford
Professor Richard Martin
Professor Gavin Perkins
Ms Jane Whitehurst

Written Comments

Professor Garry Barton
Dr Sandy Tubeuf
Dr Carolyn Tarrant
Professor Bridget Young
Professor Jackie Sturt
Dr Mark Tarrant (external reviewer)

Versus Arthritis

Dr Tom Sanders
Mrs Debra Dulake
Dr Anna Durrans
Mr Colin Wilkinson

Programme Director
Professor Elaine Hay

Mr Rajinder Flora (NIHR CCF)
Ms Fiona Giles (NIHR CCF)
Ms Saprina Harrison (NIHR CCF)
Ms Amrit Mann (NIHR CCF)
Mr Ian Beason (NIHR CCF)
Ms Cordelia Davey (NIHR CCF)

Ms Rita Long


PGfAR applications to be considered

  1. NIHR201616: Developing evidence based optimal testing strategies to monitor long term conditions in primary care
    Lead Applicant: Dr Penny Whiting
    Lead Assessors: Cindy Cooper (1), Richard Lilford (2)
    Conflicts: Professor Andrew Judge and Professor Richard Martin
    Outcome: Conditional support (phased fund)
    Professor Andrew Judge and Professor Richard Martin returned

  2. NIHR201618: Supporting Physical and Activity through Co-production in people with Severe Mental Illness (SPACES)
    Lead Applicant: Dr Emily Peckham
    Lead Assessors: Richard Lilford (1), Richard Martin (2)
    Conflicts: Professor Robbie Foy and Professor Cindy Cooper
    Outcome: Conditional support (phased fund)
    Professor Robbie Foy and Professor Cindy Cooper returned

    Professor Elaine Hay and Professor Richard Lilford left the meeting.

    Dr Tom Sanders, Mrs Debra Dulake, Mr Colin Wilkinson and Dr Anna Durrans joined the meeting.

  3. NIHR201619: GRoup Alexander lessons for Chronic musculoskeletal pain in Everyday practice (GRACE)
    Lead Applicant: Professor Paul Little
    Lead Assessors: Robbie Foy (1), Cindy Cooper (2), Tom Sanders (3)
    Conflicts: None
    Outcome: Reject

  4. NIHR201612: Development and evaluation of the Digital-My Arm Pain Programme (D-MAPP) for improving painful distal upper limb musculoskeletal disorders
    Lead Applicant: Professor Philip Conaghan
    Lead Assessors: Richard Martin (1), Belinda Lennox (2) Tom Sanders (3)
    Conflicts: Professor Robbie Foy
    Outcome: Conditional support (phased fund)

    Professor Andrew Judge and Professor Richard Martin left the meeting.

  5. NIHR201599: Personalised care for pain before knee replacement: ‘PREPARE’
    Lead Applicant: Professor Rachael Gooberman-Hill
    Lead Assessors: Belinda Lennox (1), Robbie Foy (2), Tom Sanders (3)
    Conflicts: None
    Outcome: Reject

Outcomes table

This table displays the average score for each application that was assessed in the Stage 2 committee meeting. No ranking within columns should be inferred. The PGfAR fundable range is 6-10 although a score of 6-10 does not guarantee funding. In exceptional circumstances and with approval from the Programme Director, applications may be invited/funded which fall below the fundable range. 


  Fundable range Below fundable range
Score 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1
Stage 2